What to do? Purdue or Mizzou?

As ESPN has report, Purdue coach Matt Painter met with Missouri officials Tuesday in Orlando and will be making a decision on his future in the next few days.

Which made me think, what would I do if I were in Matt Painter’s shoes?

Leaving his Alma Mater?

I’ve been at Purdue, my alma mater, for 6 years and just signed a contract extension through the 2016-2017 season. I make $1.3 million a year with up to $1 million more in incentives. I have made the NCAA tournament for five straight seasons and have won a Big Ten conference tournament along with a regular season championship as well. I lose my top 2 players in JaJuan Johnson and E’Twan Moore, but my injury-stricken fan favorite Robbie Hummel returns. The fan base loves me and wants me to stay. To top it off, I was born in Indiana. Wait, why am I looking at Missouri again?

Answer: $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

I have no other reason to go to Missouri. The fan base expects me to compete with Kansas. Unrealistic.  I am following Mike Anderson who had strong success in his tenure. They aren’t expecting a rebuilding job. They are expecting immediate results. Mizzou fans want to be elite (even though the program has never been to the Final Four).

To me this seems like an easy decision: stay at Purdue. Maybe Painter is being pretty savvy and leveraging this into a raise.  It’s a common move. But if he is contemplating leaving, I think he’s making a big mistake.

1 Comment

Filed under Coaching Carousel

One response to “What to do? Purdue or Mizzou?

  1. Pingback: Matt Painter Staying Put, Reggie Jackson Declares « Every Month Should be March

Leave a Reply

